I first read Looking for Alaska by John Green over three years ago because my friend and fellow librarian put it in my hands and said “you need to read this, it’s my favorite author right now.” So, I did.  I really liked the book, so I followed it up with An Abundance of Katherines, which was equally great.

The book club I was in read John Green and we all became engrossed in his vlog series.  He is goofy and nerdy, and that is what makes him so love-able.  His famous DFTBA (Don’t Forget To Be Awesome) mantra celebrates nerdiness as a way of life that should be celebrated and encouraged.  As a former and current nerd, relating to Green and his books is very easy.

Tonight John Green spoke at the White River branch of the Johnson County Public Library.  He talked about the power of books to transform your life and also read from his new book due out next year.  He wouldn’t share the title, but the main character is a teenage cancer patient who has some pretty big hurdles to overcome.  From the excerpts he shared tonight, it promises to be a wonderful read. I can’t wait!

The library had about 100 in attendance (about half teens and half adults).  It was a fun time, and definitely worth staying out a bit late. John Green’s books and Vlog posts always provide me with a thought or two to ponder and appreciate.  His live performances do the same.  Thanks John!

 

