Tags

The Library Day in the Life Project is a semi-annual event coordinated by Bobbi Newman of Librarian by Day. Twice a year librarians, library staff and library students from all over the globe share a day (or week) in their life through blog posts, photos, video and Twitter updates.  Check out the wiki to learn more: http://librarydayinthelife.pbworks.com/w/page/42017739/Round-7,-July-25th-through-31st-2011

Today was travel day! Another librarian and I headed to Cleveland, OH for Digipalooza. I went to the oil change place to get my oil changed and the car washed. I had an issue because they broke my latch to my hood, but luckily the maintenance guy at the library “knew a guy” and was able to fix it right up. I picked my coworker up and off we went!

The night was the check-in night. We were registered, had time to walk a couple blocks around downtown Cleveland, and attend a reception. I had a beer and mingled with other library type people all hyped and excited about Overdrive. I have never been to a library event this large. I haven’t been to ALA or PLA or anything like that. The state ILF has been the closest so far. It was pretty wild seeing so many people all jazzed about the same thing.  Very encouraging.

I am realizing that those people very interested in eBooks in each kind of library out there are quite varied. There are those who are in charge of multimedia, there are reference staff, there are IT people, there are administrators, a little bit of everything.

