Tags

, , ,

I spent this afternoon at the beautiful Hickory Stick Golf Club on hole #5 as the representative for the library in the Give Back Gals Golf Outing. It was an absolutely beautiful day. There was a slight breeze, which irritated a few golfers, but I had a ball! I packed up a bunch of water bottles (left over from Summer Reading prizes) along with our fall program brochures and an OverDrive Getting Started Guide and set up behind the tee off area for hole 5.

The ladies that participated in today’s event were fun people who know how to take advantage of a wonderful day on the golf course. It was a shotgun start with teams of four. The teams all had themes. They decorated their carts and had matching costumes. My favorite dressed team dressed up their carts to look like a tea pot and the gals wore fancy pretty aprons, mock glasses, and headbands. They were the “Tee Party”.  I recognized several participants and was able to introduce myself to many more. I handed out about sixty water bottle packages.

Sponsoring a hole for a charity golf outing might seem like a strange thing for an institution that is generally holding their hand out for assistance from others, but I am so glad our director of development agreed to this when the organizer brought it to her. I was able to have personal, close, conversations with these women about the library and the services we offer. OverDrive was an easy “sell” because most of them already had an eReader or smartphone. It was a great way of getting to see and thank many of our sponsors away from the office.  Being there today also showed our interest in the community in a very visible, positive way.

