I would really like to have a marketing intern. I want to move forward with a couple big publicity projects that I don’t have time to get done myself, and an energetic college student might really enjoy getting school credit by tackling a thing or two on my to-do list. An online press room, assistance writing press release and blog article copy, creating a media contact list and keeping it up-to-date are just a few things that come to mind.

Today was the University of Indianapolis Intern Fair. This is a beautiful campus with an amazing staff. Several months ago I went to UIndy for a leadership breakfast and had that feeling almost immediately. Today my experience was no different. The career services staff made me feel welcome, fed me an excellent lunch where I was surrounded by interesting colleagues and dynamic students then led me to a room to run a booth for prospective intern candidates.

Unfortunately there was not a huge demand for my available internship. I really cannot compete with some of the opportunities that exist for students right now. I will work with a student and offer them flexibility and freedom to tailor projects to meet their academic needs, but I am not a world-wide humanitarian organization or an amusement park. Sigh…

I did get a few students who showed a genuine interest. I put the ball in their court to send me their resume. So we will see. I have another internship fair scheduled for Franklin College next month. So I will be playing recruiter again very soon.

I wonder if I should bribe people to my table with candy?

