Tags

, ,

Milky Way Candy Bar Cake

I love my mom’s Milky Way Candy Bar Cake. She has been making it since I can remember, usually for special occasions. Sometimes it is for Christmas Eve dinner, sometimes it is a work function, sometimes for a dinner party with her friends. When I moved out, I would occasionally miss whatever event was being celebrated with Milky Way Candy Bar Cake, so I started making it once a year. I usually pick some occasion when I am going to be around other people. Last night was the 2011 Milky Way Candy Bar Cake event. I had some gals over for euchre and I wanted to make a special evening. We haven’t gotten together in a while, and I wanted to make the evening fun–especially where the food was concerned. 

 

 

 

 

Milky Way Candy Bar Cake

Ingredients:
8 Milky Way Candy Bars
2 Sticks Margarine
1 1/4 cup Buttermilk
2 cups Sugar
2 1/2 cups flour
1/2 tsp. soda
4 eggs
1 cup chopped pecans

Instructions:
Melt candy bars and one stick margarine. Set aside. Cream sugar and one stick of margarine. Add beaten eggs. Blend with buttermilk and melted candy bar mixture. Slowly add flour and soda. Add pecans. Bake in tube or 9×13″ pan at 325 for 70 minutes.

Milky Way Candy Bar Icing

Ingredients:
2 1/2 cups Sugar
1 cup Evaporated Milk
6 oz. Semi-sweet Chocolate Chips
1 cup Marshmallow Cream
1 stick Margarine

Instructions:
Cook sugar and milk to soft ball stage. Remove from heat and add chocolate chips, marshmallow cream and margarine. Stir until melted. Ice cake.

