Tags

, ,

 

Last night I tried Zumba for the first time!

According to www.zumba.com :

“Zumba Fitness® is the only Latin-inspired dance-fitness program that blends red-hot international music, created by Grammy Award-winning producers, and contagious steps to form a “fitness-party” that is downright addictive.

Since its inception in 2001, the Zumba program has grown to become the world’s largest – and most successful – dance-fitness program with more than 12 million people of all shapes, sizes and ages taking weekly Zumba classes in over 110,000 locations across more than 125 countries.”

Zumba is dancing mixed with exercise set to a variety of music. I liked it. At times I felt like I had two left feet, but I don’t think it will take me long to learn a few of the routines enough to feel more confident. I could definitely feel the burn. I’m not sure what one hour of intensive dancing burns in terms of calories – – but it was a fun way of getting movement into my day.

I paid $12 for a four week class at the Greenwood Community Center. The instructor was energetic and very good. I want her body, so that alone should keep me going for the next three weeks.

