Tags

,

This is my official Virtual Advent Tour Post. You can read about other Christmas traditions from around the world by visiting http://adventblogtour.blogspot.com/

Christmas Eve

The day before Christmas has always been so special to me. My mom has always let my sister and me open one present each on Christmas Eve. It is always new pajamas. When we were younger, they often matched…

As a child my family would go to my grandparents’ house where tons of cousins, aunts and uncles would all gather for a delicious food (wonderful appetizers, warm spinach salad, fall-off-the-bone ham, desserts of all kinds) and wonderful company. My grandfather had the tradition of getting one gift for every member of the family and after everyone had eaten he would go in order from oldest to youngest and present each person with some small, yet significant, gift that he had picked out at some point the previous year. My most memorable gifts were a variety of panda-themed items (I love pandas!) and, one year, nutcracker tickets. Every year the evening would end with a reading of ‘Twas the Night Before Christmas by my mom.

The traditions of Christmas Eve have evolved over the years. My immediate family now gathers at my parents’ house for appetizers followed by a beautiful dinner made by my parents. We still get pajamas on Christmas Eve, although the giving has expanded by including husbands and now my niece. We miss my grandfather terribly, especially on a day that was always so special to him. It is sometimes hard to accept change and break from tradition, even when you have so much to still be grateful for.

This year my husband and I are celebrating our first Christmas as a married couple. We are looking forward to participating in the family fun, but also look forward to carving out our own special Christmas Eve memories and starting our own traditions. After the family dinner, there is a carol sing and 11pm service at the church we have been attending. We are really looking forward to the entire day and night filled with wonderful moments.

