Tags

,

The Channel of Gravelines, Petit Fort Phillippe by Georges Seurat

Art has the power to stimulate thinking and feeling. I have trouble grappling with abstract ideas that I can’t immediately understand, however. For this reason, I have always had trouble appreciating any kind of art which wasn’t realistic and easy to interpret. It isn’t that I don’t appreciate the beauty of some paintings and artwork when I can’t tell what they “are,” it’s just that it always intimidates the hell out of me. I would like to educate myself in an effort to dispel some of that fear.

Today my husband and I held our weekly date at the Indianapolis Museum of Art (IMA). My parents gave us a membership as a Christmas present, so I browsed their website this morning in an effort to plan our first outing with our brand new free parking passes.

The one o’clock free tour today was listed as A road to abstraction. The description of “explore the evolution of European art as it progressed from realism toward abstraction” sounded intriguing and like it might be a good first step towards facing my fear of the unknown, so off we went.

The docent, Margie Berns, was wonderful. She is a passionate art lover who encouraged tour participants to share their own thoughts about the handful of paintings she took us to while explaining the progression of European art history in an easy-to-understand way. At no time this afternoon did I feel the usual intimidation of art that I have in past visits. I had fun and look forward to going back to the IMA in the future.

 
