Tags

, , , ,

Today I led my first Booklovers Book Club at the library. This was a new gig for me. The club has been meeting for many years but I became the new leader recently and was a little nervous about what to expect going into an established group as not just a member, but a discussion leader.

I wanted to go into the situation prepared – so I read the book (picked out by the previous leader) a few weeks ahead of time so I could be sure that I finished it. Yesterday I pulled discussion questions off the internet and printed them out. I also got up early this morning to bake peanut butter cookies (super simple recipe: 1 c. peanut butter, 1 c. sugar, 1 egg).

I set up a refreshment table with a pot of coffee and hot water for tea and the cookies. I had copies of next month’s book ready to be checked out, a pad of paper for writing down names and notes.

It was an incredibly frigid day, so I wasn’t sure what the attendance numbers would be. Luckily there were several in attendance that I knew previously from previous programs, and everyone was so kind with their introductions.

After we attended to some housekeeping and business related items we were able to discuss the book. I lucked out in that I loved this month’s pick- Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand by Helen Simonson. My review of this book is available on Goodreads.

This book had us discussing love and romance, cultural discrimination, inheritances, manners, and guns. Gotta love a book that has so many  hot button topics perfect for discussion.

